XANSYS Forum Index
    Register    

FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Usergroups    SmartFeedSmartFeed    Profile    Log in
[DM] HOW TO PLOT A MODEL EXACTLY TO THEIR REAL DIMENSIONS !!
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
Author Message
debabrata.podder
User


Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 51
Location: NIT Meghalaya, India

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:11 pm  Reply with quote

Dear experts,

As the caption tells, how to plot any geometric models exactly to their given dimensions ? I mean, if a rectangular block has length, breadth and depth 20 mm, 10 mm and 8 mm respectively. Then I want a figure plot of this block in its real dimensions !!

THANKS IN ADVANCE !!!

Regards-
_________________
Debabrata Podder(PhD)
Assistant Professor
NIT Meghalaya
India
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christopher.wright
User


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:03 pm  Reply with quote

On Jun 7, 2013, at 4:11 PM, debabrata.podder wrote:

Quote:
As the caption tells, how to plot any geometric models exactly to
their given dimensions ? I mean, if a rectangular block has length,
breadth and depth 20 mm, 10 mm and 8 mm respectively. Then I want a
figure plot of this block in its real dimensions !!
Savew the plot off to a vector graphics format, then import it into
your drawing asoftware of choice and scale it manually. You'll get a
much more precise rendering. Scaling in ANSYS is tricky because it
doesn't do actual size--it's all relative to the graphics panel on
whatever display device you're using.

Christopher Wright P.E. |"They couldn't hit an elephant at
chrisw@skypoint.com | this distance" (last words of Gen.
.......................................| John Sedgwick, Spotsylvania
1864)
http://www.skypoint.com/members/chrisw/

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
debabrata.podder
User


Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 51
Location: NIT Meghalaya, India

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:41 pm  Reply with quote

Thanks Christopher for replying.But if I import my ANSYS drawing to any drawing software to edit it, I will get only the outline diagram. I will not get any contour diagram in it !!! That's the problem. So that will not work !!!

Regards-
_________________
Debabrata Podder(PhD)
Assistant Professor
NIT Meghalaya
India
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
przemys-aw.siedlaczek
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 3:03 am  Reply with quote

Remember also, that the displacement scale factor is added to all
results plots.

This is also tricky, as Your real displaced shape should have scale 1.0,
and by default its scaled in some different factor proportional to Your
model dimensions and maximum displacement.
The scale factor is not reporter don the figures.

use DSCALE to change it to your needs

--
Przemyslaw Siedlaczek
__
MESco
PL 42-600 Tarnowskie Go'ry ul.Go'rnicza 20a
tel: +48/32/768-36-36 fax:+48/32/768-36-35
http://www.mesco.com.pl mailto: info@mesco.com.pl

On 2013-06-07 23:11, debabrata.podder wrote:
Quote:
Dear experts,

As the caption tells, how to plot any geometric models exactly to their given dimensions ? I mean, if a rectangular block has length, breadth and depth 20 mm, 10 mm and 8 mm respectively. Then I want a figure plot of this block in its real dimensions !!

THANKS IN ADVANCE !!!

Regards-

------------------------
Debabrata Podder
Research Scholar
IIT Kharagpur
PIN NO.: 721302
India






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+



Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christopher.wright
User


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:25 am  Reply with quote

On Jun 8, 2013, at 12:41 AM, debabrata.podder wrote:

Quote:
Thanks Christopher for replying.But if I import my ANSYS drawing to
any drawing software to edit it, I will get only the outline
diagram. I will not get any contour diagram in it !!! That's the
problem. So that will not work !!!

I think you're mistaken. I've been exporting ANSYS plots to various
graphics software since (probably) before you were born.

Christopher Wright P.E. |"They couldn't hit an elephant at
chrisw@skypoint.com | this distance" (last words of Gen.
.......................................| John Sedgwick, Spotsylvania
1864)
http://www.skypoint.com/members/chrisw/

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuck.ritter
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:11 pm  Reply with quote

Chris

If it wouldn't be too much trouble, perhaps you could let us know what
you are currently using.

I've been less and less pleased with the quality of hard copy for
documentation - I can't blame ANSYS, as I doubt they've messed with the
graphics in a long time, but something has changed.

regards

Chuck Ritter
JAR Associates
North Kingstown,RI
401-294-4589 www.jar.com

On 6/8/2013 2:24 PM, Christopher Wright wrote:
Quote:
On Jun 8, 2013, at 12:41 AM, debabrata.podder wrote:


Quote:
Thanks Christopher for replying.But if I import my ANSYS drawing to
any drawing software to edit it, I will get only the outline
diagram. I will not get any contour diagram in it !!! That's the
problem. So that will not work !!!

I think you're mistaken. I've been exporting ANSYS plots to various
graphics software since (probably) before you were born.

Christopher Wright P.E. |"They couldn't hit an elephant at
chrisw@skypoint.com | this distance" (last words of Gen.
.......................................| John Sedgwick, Spotsylvania
1864)
http://www.skypoint.com/members/chrisw/



+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+





--
Chuck Ritter JAR Associates North Kingstown,RI 401-294-4589 www.jar.com

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christopher.wright
User


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 927

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:16 am  Reply with quote

On Jun 9, 2013, at 5:10 PM, Chuck Ritter wrote:

Quote:
If it wouldn't be too much trouble, perhaps you could let us know what
you are currently using.
As I'm sure everyone knows I'm a MacHead, so specific software
recommendations may not help much, but the general process is pretty
simple. Screw around with the screen display, removing clutter until
I'm showing exactly what I want to see. Then export the plot in a
vector format readable by my graphics app of choice for annotation.
I've always used the /SHOW command to pick the format options.
Postscript is probably the very highest quality because it's so
universally readable, but it takes pricy software like Illustrator to
read it. I've also used HPGL output with good results. I don't know
if Tektronix formatted plots are still available--that option isn't
shown in the docs but sometimes ANSYS leaves that stuff around but
undocumented. You need to do some experimenting to match your
situation. Long I was accessing ANSYS via a Tektronix emulator for
(imagine) a Mac Plus, and the quality of the graphics was
exceptionally good and easy to edit: polygons for filled shapes;
editable text that could be reformatted to proportional spacing,
curves and lines with editable attributes.

Vector formatted plots are best when you have to edit particular
features. You can straighten or smooth curves and lines or you might
want to change color or line weight in a wireframe displacement plot
to show the displaced shape in a contrasting color to the unloaded
shape. Vector plots are best any place you want to avoid jaggies. You
can get away with high quality JPEGS or TIFFs for area contour
plotting, but the picture looks better if you remove all the
lettering and detail and then annotate the picture it with purpose-
built graphics software. Nothing says amateur like a screen shot with
no hint of what the technical point might be.

My true favorite graphics app is Deneba Canvas. Deneba renamed itself
years ago (ACD, I think) and no longer supports Canvas for the Mac,
but it's still a great app with a lot of truly excellent features.
Illustrator is very fancy but requires some dedication to use. It's
hard to say what the Windows or Linux equivalents might be, but the
feature set you're after is usually found in lightweight 2D cad
programs or graphics that can do technical illustrations. Canvas is a
perfect mix of a good feature set and uncluttered interface.
Quote:

I've been less and less pleased with the quality of hard copy for
documentation - I can't blame ANSYS, as I doubt they've messed with
the
graphics in a long time, but something has changed.
Printer issues might be in play here. Again, Postscript on a laser
printer is the standard for high quality printing.

Christopher Wright P.E. |"They couldn't hit an elephant at
chrisw@skypoint.com | this distance" (last words of Gen.
.......................................| John Sedgwick, Spotsylvania
1864)
http://www.skypoint.com/members/chrisw/

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrew.kelly
User


Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:36 pm  Reply with quote

christopher.wright wrote:

Postscript is probably the very highest quality because it's so
universally readable, but it takes pricy software like Illustrator to
read it.

I've had some success recently extracting vector graphics from PDFs using two different pieces of free software. Inkscape is working best for my immediate needs. I'm using it to export to .EMF, which is a vector format supported natively by MSOffice. I've had success with both, though.

If you can get to PostScript, maybe one of these will take you the rest of the way.
_________________
Andrew C. Kelly, P.E.
Honeywell Sensing & Productivity Solutions
andrew.kelly@honeywell.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

sleek template created by Andrew Charron