XANSYS Forum Index
    Register    

FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Usergroups    SmartFeedSmartFeed    Profile    Log in
[APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
Author Message
david.gross
User


Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:56 am  Reply with quote

Giuseppe,

You're really making this hard. When you have an irregular area (i.e., not
four-sided), by all means it makes sense to do a little Boolean work to
simplify the areas so that they "look" four sided. However, this does not
mean you should lay down a whole grid of lines that constitute the
boundaries of a bunch of single element volumes. If you want to something
as laborious as this, then I invite you to look into true "old school"
direct generation methods using only nodes and elements and forgetting all
this 21st century solid modeling stuff. If you're going to do solid
modeling, then the normal expectation is that each area has a plurality of
elements associated with it.

I implore you to learn a little more about how to control area meshing.
When you say that you want a "regular mesh," that generally means that you
are seeking a "mapped mesh" in ANSYS parlance. Do yourself a favor and
search "mapped mesh" in TFM. What you are seeking to understand is well
described therein.

Regards,

David Gross
Dominion Engineering, Inc.

-----Original Message-----
From: xansys-bounces@xansys.org [mailto:xansys-bounces@xansys.org] On Behalf
Of giuseppe.carolis
Sent: Friday, December 07, 2012 7:46 AM
To: xansys@xansys.org
Subject: [Xansys] [APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]

Hi experts,
I have a meshed area very irregular (fig 1) and I would create a regular
mesh.

To do it I have created some lines to divide area in regular way. (fig.1-2)

[Image: http://imageshack.us/a/img405/986/figure12.png ]


I have thinked to use "Divide area by line" command.
Now as the boundary lines are meshed I cann't be able to use this command.
(I have used to do it lclear,all).


This problem is related to the presence of an other area "attached" to the
previous. (fig.3-4) (on red area there are hardpoints used to create regular
geometry by line).

[Image: http://imageshack.us/a/img690/9103/figure34f.png ]


Now, I would create regular mesh without touch this area as I would create a
numbers of elements very very high, at difference of the first area.

How can I solve this problem?!
Is there a command that allows me to do it without problem!?

Thanks to all.

Giuseppe De Carolis
University of Naples

Italy






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.kosloski
User


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:45 am  Reply with quote

Giuseppe,

There is an undocumented option on most of the divide commands that will let
you do this. Putting the keyword MESH in the eighth field will allow the
code to bypass this warning.


ASBL,na,nl, , , , , ,MESH

Warning, use at your own risk! You can easily corrupt your database if you
use this command to divide an entity that is already meshed. (i.e any
boundary line attached to a meshed area that gets divided).

-Jim

________________________________


James J. Kosloski
Senior Engineering Manager

CAE Associates, Inc.
1579 Straits Turnpike, Suite 2B
Middlebury, CT 06762
www.caeai.com

P:  203.758.2914
F:  203.758.2965
E:  kosloski@caeai.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This email and any attachments may contain privileged or confidential
information of Computer Aided Engineering Associates. This e-mail is
intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to which it is
addressed. If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, you are
hereby notified that any copying, distribution, dissemination or action
taken in relation to the contents of this e-mail and any of its attachments
is strictly prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this e-mail
in error, please notify the sender immediately and permanently delete the
original e-mail and destroy any copies or printouts of this e-mail as well
as any attachments.

-----Original Message-----
From: xansys-bounces@xansys.org [mailto:xansys-bounces@xansys.org] On Behalf
Of giuseppe.carolis
Sent: Friday, December 07, 2012 7:46 AM
To: xansys@xansys.org
Subject: [Xansys] [APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]

Hi experts,
I have a meshed area very irregular (fig 1) and I would create a regular
mesh.

To do it I have created some lines to divide area in regular way. (fig.1-2)

[Image: http://imageshack.us/a/img405/986/figure12.png ]


I have thinked to use "Divide area by line" command.
Now as the boundary lines are meshed I cann't be able to use this command.
(I have used to do it lclear,all).


This problem is related to the presence of an other area "attached" to the
previous. (fig.3-4) (on red area there are hardpoints used to create regular
geometry by line).

[Image: http://imageshack.us/a/img690/9103/figure34f.png ]


Now, I would create regular mesh without touch this area as I would create a
numbers of elements very very high, at difference of the first area.

How can I solve this problem?!
Is there a command that allows me to do it without problem!?

Thanks to all.

Giuseppe De Carolis
University of Naples

Italy






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danbohlen
User


Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 951
Location: Evendale OH

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:10 am  Reply with quote

I see SO many issues on the list about hardpoints. I must be leaving a sheltered life. Be involved with FEA for 20 years and never saw a model with hard points. Maybe I'm missing out.



Dan chunkingforever,hardpoints-never! Bohlen
Senior Staff Engineer, Military HPT Analysis
GE Aircraft Engines
6380 Aviation Way
West Chester, OH  45069
(NP2 Pod "B" 2nd floor desk #135)
M/D  W217  513-672-6360
Dial Comm *892-6360 



-----Original Message-----
From: xansys-bounces@xansys.org [mailto:xansys-bounces@xansys.org] On Behalf Of giuseppe.carolis
Sent: Friday, December 07, 2012 9:27 AM
To: xansys@xansys.org
Subject: Re: [Xansys] [APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]

Dear David,
thanks a lot for your replies.
As I have hard points, I can not do a mapped mesh, I 'm obliged to use a free mesh.

Giuseppe De Carolis
University of Naples

Italy






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
_________________
Dan Bohlen
Senior Staff Engineer
GE Aircraft Engines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akbey.kalkan
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:34 am  Reply with quote

Giuseppe

Your problem has always been hard points. As you have been advised numerous times on this list do not use them and tell your professor that using them does not make any difference at all to the result.

Of course, also read Modelling and Meshing Guide.

--Akbey Kalkan
Jacobs UK

________________________________
From: xansys-bounces@xansys.org on behalf of giuseppe.carolis
Sent: Fri 07/12/2012 2:27 PM
To: xansys@xansys.org
Subject: Re: [Xansys] [APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]


Dear David,
thanks a lot for your replies.
As I have hard points, I can not do a mapped mesh, I 'm obliged to use a free mesh.

Giuseppe De Carolis
University of Naples

Italy






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+


________________________________
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer.

________________________________
Jacobs U.K. Limited
1180 Eskdale Road, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TU
Registered in England and Wales under number 2594504

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danbohlen
User


Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 951
Location: Evendale OH

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:42 am  Reply with quote

Yep, sounds like your prof is an idiot or just an impractical ivory tower mental meat stroker. So TELL him there are hardpoints in the model and get the job done. Is the idiot going to pull up your Ansys database to check it? You can be honest and actually HAVE some hardpoints existing somewhere in the database, but not really use them.

I once took a FEA class in college (decades ago) and we were supposed to draw some stress contours by hand. I made the model in Ansys and claimed I used a "graphics program" to generate my contour plot.


Dan asnikewouldsay-justdoit Bohlen
Senior Staff Engineer, Military HPT Analysis
GE Aircraft Engines
6380 Aviation Way
West Chester, OH  45069
(NP2 Pod "B" 2nd floor desk #135)
M/D  W217  513-672-6360
Dial Comm *892-6360 




-----Original Message-----
From: xansys-bounces@xansys.org [mailto:xansys-bounces@xansys.org] On Behalf Of Kalkan, Akbey
Sent: Friday, December 07, 2012 10:34 AM
To: ANSYS User Discussion List
Subject: Re: [Xansys] [APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]

Giuseppe

Your problem has always been hard points. As you have been advised numerous times on this list do not use them and tell your professor that using them does not make any difference at all to the result.

Of course, also read Modelling and Meshing Guide.

--Akbey Kalkan
Jacobs UK

________________________________
From: xansys-bounces@xansys.org on behalf of giuseppe.carolis
Sent: Fri 07/12/2012 2:27 PM
To: xansys@xansys.org
Subject: Re: [Xansys] [APDL Divide Area by line error with meshed lines]


Dear David,
thanks a lot for your replies.
As I have hard points, I can not do a mapped mesh, I 'm obliged to use a free mesh.

Giuseppe De Carolis
University of Naples

Italy






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+


________________________________
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer.

________________________________
Jacobs U.K. Limited
1180 Eskdale Road, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TU Registered in England and Wales under number 2594504

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
_________________
Dan Bohlen
Senior Staff Engineer
GE Aircraft Engines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

sleek template created by Andrew Charron